Academic Programs / Majors

Home > Majors > Sociology
New Search Button


Request Info About Graduate School

administrative contact

Department of Sociology and Anthropology
phone: 304-293-5801

program contact

Department of Sociology and Anthropology
phone: 304-293-5801

Program Details

Program Description

The Department of Sociology and Anthropology offers a master of arts degree in sociology. The program trains students in the core areas of sociology, including research design, quantitative and qualitative methods, data analysis, theory and sociological writing. It also teaches a range of professional skills designed to help graduates enter the academic or non-academic job markets. Emphasis is placed on writing and presentation skills, knowledge of statistical software, teaching ability, expertise in program evaluation, and the ability to communicate and apply sociological theory.

Career Profile

Graduates have entered Ph.D. programs and have taken positions in universities, government, community agencies and private industry.

Graduate Program Application Requirements

Applicants must arrange for official copies of transcripts and test scores to be sent directly to the WVU Office of Graduate Admissions and Recruitment at PO Box 6510, Morgantown, WV 26506-6510. If being sent by delivery service (Federal Express, UPS, etc) requiring a street address, please use WVU Office of Graduate Admissions and Recruitment, 1500 One Waterfront Place, Morgantown, WV 26501. The program requirements listed below (if any) are in addition to the main WVU Graduate Application.

  • Test Requirements: GRE

English Language Proficiency

All applicants whose first language is not English must provide proof of English language proficiency. WVU accepts either the TOEFL or the IELTS for this purpose. Please see Office of Admissions - English Language Proficiency for more information.

Apply Now

Prospective students should apply online at:

Application Priority Dates and Deadlines

  • Fall Deadline: February 1


WVU is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.